facebook Youtube

Joan Taavon Award

Joan Taavon Award was created in honor of Joan Taavon who served as President of AMECO member Missing and Exploited Children’s Association (MECA). The annual award is presented to a person who shows outstanding leadership and exhibits extraordinary passion and commitment to the field of missing and exploited children.

Employees and volunteers of AMECO member organizations are eligible for the award.


Our past honorees:

2013 Award

2013 Recipient: Pina Arcamone, Director General of The Missing Children’s Network.

2012 Award

2012 Recipient: Vicki Kelly, Founder and Executive Director of the Tommy Foundation.

2011 Award

2011 Recipient: Janis McCall, Founder & Executive Director of One Missing Link.


  • 2010 Joan Taavon Award recipient – Bob Walcott, Executive Director of the Laura Recovery Center
  • 2009 Joan Taavon Award recipients – Doug and Mary Lyall, Center for Hope
  • 2008 Joan Taavon Award recipient – Cindy Rudometkin, Polly Klaas Foundation
  • 2007 Joan Taavon Award recipient – Lori St. Onge, Child Find PEI
  • 2006 Joan Taavon Award recipient – Phyllis Hallatt, Child Find Saskatchewan
  • 2005 Joan Taavon Award recipient – Joan Thompson, Missing Children Center